Green fir tree

"A Step Towards Reconciliation"

Results based Indigenous programs and services

Chippewas of Saugeen elect new chief, council

By Cory Bilyea  Local Journalism Initiative Reporter SAUGEEN-The Chippewas of Saugeen held their general election on Aug. 26, voting in a new chief and council. Conrad Ritchie received 166 votes out of the 466 ballots cast for chief, making him the newest leader of Saugeen First Nations #29. One of seven candidates for chief, Ritchie, who served for two terms as a councillor, retained the highest number of votes, next to Clinton E. Root, who received 76. Ritchie replaces outgoing chief Lester Anoquot who did not run for chief this year, instead running for a position as a councillor. The new council consists of Rory Henry, Lester Anoquot, Letitia Thompson, Richelle M. A. Ritchie, Lorne Mandawoub, Audra J. Root, Theresa Root, and Melissa Snowdon. Ritchie was also elected as a

The post Chippewas of Saugeen elect new chief, council appeared first on The Turtle Island News.

Generated by Feedzy